I-League 2020/21: Five facts you need to know about the upcoming season

I-League Trophy
I-League 2020-21: Coaches pleased with safety measures put in place for  qualifiers
I-League Trophy

The upcoming edition of the I-League is scheduled to commence on January 9 with Sudeva Delhi FC locking horns with Mohammedan Sporting Club in the season opener.

The teams participating in the I-League are Mohammedan Sporting Club, Chennai City FC, Aizawl FC, Neroca FC, Sudeva Delhi FC, Tiddim Road Athletic Union FC, Real Kashmir FC, Gokulam Kerala FC, Indian Arrows, Churchill Brothers FC Goa, and RoundGlass Punjab FC.

Here, ahead of the first game, we have a look at five things you need to know about I-League 2020/21:

1) All matches to be held in Kolkata

All matches of the 2020/21 edition of the I-League will take place only in Kolkata. The organisers have planned to restrict teams from travelling from one city to the other with an aim to curb the spread of COVID-19. Thus, all matches of the upcoming season will be held across four venues in Kolkata.

The fours venues selected are Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan, Mohun Bagan Ground, Kishore Bharati Krirangan, and Kalyani Municipal Stadium. The players will start with a 14 day quarantine period once they land in Kolkata along with several rounds of testing to make sure they test COVID negative and are cleared to play in the league.

2) Entire league will be played behind closed doors

The entire season of the I-League will be played behind closed doors with no spectators allowed to enter the ground. Players and coaches would be quite upset with this rule as they will surely miss the support and motivation they’ve got from the fans over the years gone by.

All players, including coaching staff will be in a biosecure bubble throughout the tournament. All members of the team will have to adapt to the different and biosecure environment for the upcoming season.