India vs Russia || Granatkin Memorial Tournament || Livestream

- Sponsored content -

India U-19 National team will take on hosts Russia in their first match of the Granatkin Memorial Tournament in Saint Petersburg on Tuesday (June 4, 2019). Besides Russia, India have been clubbed with Bulgaria, and Moldova in Group A.

The 12 teams participating in the tournament have been divided into three groups, with Argentina, Armenia, Turkey, Greece, Iran, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan being some of the other participating teams. The tournament is staged in memory of the first FIFA Vice-President Valentin Granatkin.

Head Coach Floyd Pinto maintained that he would be using the platform to “give every member as much game time as possible.”

- Sponsored content -

“We have travelled with an 18-member squad. Our primary target will be to give every member as much game time as possible. This is a fresh squad with a mix of the boys from Indian Arrows, boys from the U-16 team who had qualified to quarterfinals of AFC U16 Championship (in 2018), and a new group of boys who have made it through the trials,” Pinto informed.

India will play three matches in the group phase followed by two play-off matches depending on the group standings. The tournament is in view of India U-19s preparation for the AFC U-19 Qualifiers which are slated to be held later this year.

india u19 football team

Floyd also felt that the boys “will be enjoying” the soothing temperatures in Saint Petersburg, the current temperature forecasts ranging from a minimum 8 degrees to maximum around 23 degrees.

- Sponsored content -

“I am sure, the boys will love the weather,” Floyd maintained. Our primary lookout will be acclimatise as soon as possible, and play to our true potential,” the Coach expressed.

16-year old striker Rohit Danu, who was part of India’s U-23 squad for the AFC U-23 Qualifiers stated the “tournament will help all mature as players.”

“It’s a very big tournament. It’s nothing less than an opportunity for me as well as for the entire team to assess ourselves against quality opponents,” he quipped.

Sanjeev Stalin, who caught everyone’s imaginations with his stunning curling free-kick in the AFC U16 Championship in 2016, felt that if the team plays to their true potential, it can overcome the tough challenges in the group.

“Football is a tough game. We know whom we are going to play against. But we have to believe in ourselves, and execute it on the pitch. We will try to play to our best, and overcome the challenges,” he said.

- Sponsored content -

The 18-member squad is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Niraj Kumar.

DEFENDERS: Akash Mishra, Muhammed Rafi, Sumit Rathi, Shabas Ahammed, Jitendra Singh.

MIDFIELDERS: Sanjeev Stalin, Jeakson Singh Thounaojam, Ninthoinganba Meetei Khumanthem, Givson Singh Moirangthem, Vikram Partap Singh, Ricky John Shabong, Lalchhanhima Sailo, Muhammed Basith Parathodi, Robin Yadav.

FORWARDS: Harmanpreet Singh, Rohit Danu.

HEAD COACH: Floyd Pinto.

India’s schedule in the tournament is as follows:

June 4: India vs Russia (IST 8.30pm).

June 6: India vs Moldova (IST 2.30pm).

June 9: India vs Bulgaria (IST 2.30PM)

Source –

- Sponsored content -

More from author

Related posts

Popular Reads

Karolis Skinkys – “We have all the ingredients for a successful season”

Recently, Mr. Karolis Skinkys, the newly earmarked Sporting Director of Kerala Blasters FC, illustrious for leading FK Sūduva from scratch to earn...

From Aitor Monroy to Nick Fitzgerald: Who are the 7 overseas recruits of Jamshedpur FC?

Jamshedpur FC completed their foreign signings recently. Jamshedpur were in search of an AFC quota player and they signed Nick Fitzgerald,...

Who are the asian signings of each ISL team?

This year’s ISL would see a flurry of foreign talents and some could argue that this year’s ISL might have the best...

കരോളിസ് സ്കിൻകിസ്‌ – “വിജയിക്കാനുള്ള എല്ലാ ചേരുവകളും ബ്ലാസ്റ്റേഴ്സിൽ ഉണ്ട്”

പുതിയ സീസണിലേക്ക് കാതലായ മാറ്റങ്ങൾ കൊണ്ട് വ്യത്യസ്തരായി മുന്നേറുകയാണ് കേരള ബ്ലാസ്റ്റേഴ്‌സ്. അതിനെ മുന്നിൽ നിന്നും നയിക്കുന്നത് ലിത്വേനിയക്കാരനായ കരോളിസ് സ്കിൻകിസ് എന്ന പ്രതിഭാശാലിയായ സ്പോർട്ടിങ് ഡയറക്ടറുടെ മികവ് തന്നെയാണെന്ന്...

Lluis Sastre’s impact on Hyderabad FC’s midfield

Hyderabad FC has currently five Spanish players if Nestor Gordillo is included. The other four Spanish players are Odei Onaindia, Fran Sandaza,...

കേരള പ്രീമിയർ ലീഗിന്റെ “പത്ത”രമാറ്റ് പടക്കുതിരകൾ

ഭാരതഫുട്‌ബോളിനെ ഇന്നും ഏറ്റവും ബഹുമാനഖത്തോടെ പുറംരാജ്യങ്ങൾ പോലും നോക്കിക്കാണുന്നത് ഇവിടുത്തെ പ്രൗഢഗംഭീരമായ ഇന്ത്യൻ സൂപ്പർ ലീഗും ഐ ലീഗും ഉൾപ്പെടുന്ന ആരാധകരുടെ പ്രിയപ്പെട്ട ടൂർണമെന്റുകളിലൂടെയാണ്…ഇന്ത്യൻ...

I-League – Real Kashmir FC Sign Afghanistan International Zohib Islam Amiri

I-League side Real Kashmir FC have signed Afghanistan International defender Zohib Islam Amiri.